
New York’s tough Anti-Stalking Law:
Stalking is a crime that can impact anyone. It can be 
perpetrated by someone you know or a stranger. In 
simplest terms, stalking is the unwanted pursuit of 
another person. It includes repeated harassment or 
threatening behavior. In domestic violence situations, 
stalking is a very effective control tactic used by 
abusers. As technologies develop, abusers have 
additional ways of stalking – through email, texting, 
social media or other online sites and with computer or 
phone stalkerware.

Victims of stalking by family or household members 
may go to family court as well as criminal court to get 
an order of protection. The law authorizes the courts 
to order an abuser to surrender his or her firearms 
when issuing an order of protection. Moreover, upon 
conviction of certain offenses an abuser’s firearms 
license will be revoked. New York law also has strict 
penalties for violating orders of protection and requires 
courts to consider domestic violence in child custody 
and visitation cases.

New York’s Anti-Stalking Law established the specific 
offense of stalking and allowed the prosecution of 
persons who engage in an intentional course of stalking 

conduct. Courts can impose severe penalties against 
individuals found guilty of this crime.

A victim should report stalking or harassment to the 
police each time it occurs.

 �A person who repeatedly threatens the health, safety 
or property of a person or repeatedly contacts or 
follows a person after being clearly told not to do so, 
upon conviction, faces up to 3 months in jail.

 �A person who engages in a course of conduct that 
intentionally places another person in fear of physical 
injury, death or the commission of a sex offense, upon 
conviction, faces up to a year in jail.

 �A person aged 21 or older who repeatedly contacts 
or follows a child under the age of 14, or displays a 
weapon while intentionally engaging in a course of 
conduct that places another person of any age in 
fear of physical injury, upon conviction, faces up to 4 
years in prison.

 �A person who, in the course of stalking, causes 
physical injury or commits a specified sex offense, 
upon conviction, faces up to 7 years in prison.

Help and Resources:
For immediate assistance, call 911. When the police 
arrive, give a complete statement of what happened. 
Get the reporting officer’s name and badge number 
as well as a copy of the Domestic Incident Report. A 
victim’s rights notice is available from the police, the 
courts and local hospitals explaining what police 
and courts can do to help. You can go to either 
family court or criminal court to obtain an order of 
protection.

The deaf and hearing disabled can contact the 
Abused Deaf Women’s Advocacy Services at 
hotline@adwas.org or visit adwas.org for more 
information.

Contact the New York State Domestic and Sexual 
Violence Hotline or your local domestic violence 
program for support and information about services, 
emergency shelters and legal options. To reach 
the New York State Domestic and Sexual Violence 

Hotline, call 800-942-6906, text 844-997-2121 or 
visit opdv.ny.gov/survivors-victims to chat live.  
All conversations are confidential, secure and 
available 24/7.

Visit the New York Domestic Violence Program 
Directory, maintained by the New York State Coalition 
Against Domestic Violence, for a list of domestic 
violence programs by county: nyscadv.org/find-help/
program-directory.html.

Contacts available 24/7:
New York State Domestic and Sexual Violence Hotline

800-942-6906, text 844-997-2121 
or chat live at opdv.ny.gov

NYC Safe Horizon Domestic Violence Hotline 
800-621-HOPE (800-621-4673) 

TTY/TDD: 866-604-5350

Police, Ambulance or Emergency
911

National Domestic Violence Hotline
800-799-SAFE (800-799-7233) 

TTY/TDD: 800-787-3224, text “START” to 88788 
or chat live at thehotline.org

National Deaf Hotline Video Phone
855-812-1001 

or chat live at thedeafhotline.org
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Use available online resources to learn how to 
protect yourself and how to get help. However, 
be careful because computers and electronic 
devices store information that can give clues 
about your activities. You don’t want to use a 
device that an abuser can have remote access to. 
It may be safest to use a computer at a trusted 
friend’s house or the public library.

Know the laws and 
where to go for help

Source: New York State Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence, www.opdv.ny.gov
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Dear Friend,

Domestic violence and stalking are crimes 
that can affect people from all walks of life. 
I’ve prepared this brochure as a general 
overview of some of New York’s laws 
protecting victims of domestic violence or 
stalking, along with some resources for 
help.

Please contact my office if I can assist you 
further with this or any other matter.

Sincerely,

Speaker of the Assembly Carl E. Heastie

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007

212-312-1400

Room 932, LOB
Albany, NY 12248

518-455-3791

speaker@nyassembly.gov
www.nyassembly.gov

Provided by Speaker of the Assembly

Carl E. Heastie



 �Require police to arrest abusers who violate orders 
of protection or commit a felony or a misdemeanor 
against another family or household member.

 �Enable victims to get an order of protection at either 
family court or criminal court.

 �Provide that orders of protection issued in criminal 
court for family offenses are in effect for a period 
up to 2 years for violations, up to 5 years for 
misdemeanors and up to 8 years for felonies.

 �Provide that violators may face felony charges when 
violating an order of protection.

 �Provide that – in cases of repeated violations of an 
order of protection – violators could face up to 4 
years in prison and 7 years if a victim suffers physical 
injury.

 �Allow for courts issuing orders of protection to order 
the surrender of the abuser's firearms.

 �Maintain a statewide Orders of Protection Registry to 
aid police and courts.

 �Promote rigorous interstate enforcement of orders of 
protection.

 �Permit courts to award victim restitution in an 
amount up to $15,000 for felonies and up to $10,000 
for all non-felonies.

 �Require courts to consider domestic violence in child 
custody and visitation determinations.

 �Require police to determine the primary physical 
aggressor so that victims of domestic violence are 
not inappropriately arrested along with their abusers 
when more than one person alleges violence.

 �Establish crimes of criminal obstruction of breathing 
or blood circulation, strangulation in the 2nd degree 
and strangulation in the 1st degree. These offenses 
are included in the list of family offenses.

 �Require colleges and universities to notify 
appropriate law enforcement within 24 hours of a 
report of a violent felony or a report that a student 
who resides in housing owned or operated by the 
school is missing.

 �Criminalize threatening communications, including 
emails and texts, that a perpetrator uses to cause 
their victims to fear physical harm to themselves or 
their family or damage to their property. This helps 
domestic violence victims strengthen their cases for 
securing orders of protection.

 �Include “following” to also mean tracking the 
movements or location of a person by GPS or other 
device. The U.S. Department of Justice reports that 
1 in 4 cases of stalking involves the use of some type 
of technology. Many of these cases involve domestic 
violence, and it is vitally important that victims of 
domestic violence are protected from such tracking.

 �Prohibit discrimination against victims of domestic 
violence in housing, public accommodations, real 
estate transactions and educational institutions. 
The law prohibits landlords from inquiring about a 
victim’s status as a survivor of domestic violence and 
protects against wrongful evictions based on such 
status.

 �Add rifles and shotguns to the list of weapons that 
must be surrendered when an order of protection 
includes the surrender of firearms. Add assault in 
the 3rd degree, menacing in the 2nd and 3rd degree 
and criminal obstruction of breathing or blood 
circulation, among other crimes, to the definition of 
serious offense.

 �Prohibit an individual who has been convicted 
of a domestic violence crime from purchasing or 
possessing a firearm, rifle or shotgun.

 �Prevent individuals with an outstanding warrant 
for a felony or serious offense crime, including a 
domestic violence misdemeanor, from being eligible 
for a firearms license.

 �Require that the court order the surrender of all 
firearms, rifles or shotguns following a conviction 
of a felony or serious offense, including domestic 
violence misdemeanors.

 �Allow victims of domestic violence the right to 
request that the local county board of elections keep 
registration or other records confidential.

 �Require the translation of orders of protection, when 
needed, in all family courts and supreme courts.

 �Prohibit marriage under the age of 17.

 �Remove the mandate that domestic violence 
survivors pay a fee or apply for public assistance in 
order to stay in a shelter for residential services.

 �Establish the Extreme Risk Protection Order, 
which allows family, household members, school 
administrators, police or prosecutors to petition 
their local Supreme Court to have firearms, rifles or 

shotguns confiscated from a person believed to be a 
threat or to ban that person from buying or possessing 
firearms, rifles or shotguns. The law specifies what 
actions and behaviors would constitute the use of this 
order and requires a hearing be held within 6 days to 
determine if the order should be made permanent.

 �Cover the cost of crime scene cleanup for victims and 
provide compensation for the expenses of a stay in a 
domestic violence shelter.

 �Streamline the process for tenants who are victims 
of domestic violence to terminate residential leases 
or rental agreements and removes the requirement 
that such tenants be current on their rent.

 �Provide free transportation home or to safe shelter 
for any sexual assault victim and their advocate from 
any medical facility where the victim received care.

 �Add victims of domestic violence to a protected 
class status under the employment provisions 
of the Human Rights Law and allow employees 
a reasonable accommodation in taking time off 
to receive medical attention, counseling or court 
appearances.

 �Provide for temporary spousal support with orders of 
protection.

 �Allow for the cancellation of telephone and cable 
contracts without charge for domestic violence 
victims with accompanying proof such as a police 
report, an order of protection, etc.

 �Change the statute of limitations from one year to 
two for civil suits against an abuser.

 �Permit domestic violence victims to obtain 
compensation for failure to enforce orders of 
protection.

 �Criminalize revenge porn (intentional, non-
consensual disclosures of sexually explicit images 
obtained under reasonable expectations of privacy).

 �Expand the Address Confidentiality Program to victims 
of sexual offenses, stalking and human trafficking.

 �Eliminate requirements for domestic violence 
survivors to apply for temporary assistance or be 
charged fees for services.

New York’s laws: 


