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Speaker of the Assembly
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Dear Friend,

New York State
housing laws can be
complex, and tenants
can often be unaware
of their rights.

This brochure offers
a general overview of
some of these rights,
information on how to protect yourself as
atenant and provides resources for more
information. I hope you find it helpful.

If I can assist you further with this or any
other matter, please contact my office.

Sincerely,

(WPt

Carl E. Heastie
Speaker of the Assembly

250 Broadway, Suite 2301
New York, NY 10007
212-312-1400

Room 932
Legislative Office Building
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-3791
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Leases

Alease is an oral or written contract between
atenant and a landlord stating the terms and
conditions of the rental agreement. Public housing
authority leases and leases for rent-stabilized
units have their own regulations and specific lease
conditions.

At a minimum, your lease should always include:

m the identities of the parties to the agreement;

u the term of the lease;

W a clear description of the rental space, including

appliances and other furnishings;

® who is liable for utility expenses;

® the amount of rent;

® the date rent is due;

® penalties for late rent payments, if any;

® the landlord’s responsibilities;

B the tenant’s responsibilities; and

W provisions regarding painting.
Read and understand your lease before signing it.
Once sighed, your lease can’t be changed without
both parties’ approval. Approved changes to your

lease should be in writing and signed by both you
and your landlord.

Before you sign a lease

Check that the windows, wiring, insulation,
plumbing, walls, floors, stairways, stove, refrigerator,
toilet, sinks and heating system are in good working
condition. If they aren’t, address or resolve the
matter before signing the lease.

If you discover issues after you have moved in,
write to your landlord requesting repairs within a
reasonable amount of time. Remember, read the
lease carefully and know your legal responsibilities
under the lease.

Early lease termination

If you want to terminate your lease before it ends,
your landlord must try to lessen damages by making
areasonable, good faith attempt to re-rent the unit.
You may also, in some instances, sublet or assign the
apartment.

Senior citizens moving to health care facilities, as
well as victims of domestic violence who reasonably
fear they can’t safely remain in their households, are
covered by special protections in the law for early
lease termination.

Fees

Landlords can’t collect application fees and can’t
charge more than a total of $20 for background or
credit check fees. The landlord must provide a copy
of the background or credit check and a receipt or
invoice from the entity conducting the check to the
potential tenant before collecting the fee. The fee
may be waived if the potential tenant can provide

a copy of a background or credit check conducted
within the past 30 days.

Security deposits

The law limits a security deposit to an amount equal
to one month’s rent and requires any deposit to be
refundable. As a tenant, you should request a receipt
for your security deposit. You also have the right to ask
for a walk-through inspection with the landlord before
occupancy and again at the end of the tenancy.

Discrimination

Itis unlawful to deny a person housing based

on their race, creed, color, national origin,
gender identity or expression, disability, sexual
orientation, military status, marital status, family
status, lawful source of income or status as a
victim of domestic violence. Further, in New York
City, it is also unlawful to deny a person housing
based on partnership status or immigration
status. Persons in recovery from alcohol
dependence and persons with AIDS or who are
HIV-positive are also protected from housing
discrimination.




Landlord responsibilities™

m Ensure the dwelling is clean before the tenant
moves in.

m Adequately light common area halls and stairways.

B Keep heat on at all times during the winter
season, except during repairs, alterations and
temporary emergencies.

B Maintain radiators, plumbing, wiring, water
heaters and furnaces.

B Keep apartment and surrounding areas free
from insects, rodents and trash.

Tenant responsibilities™

® Pay the rent on time.

® Keep the apartment and yard clean.

® Inform the landlord of any problems with facilities.

B Repair any damages to the premises, besides
normal wear and tear.

“Unless otherwise stated in the lease

Buildings with six or more housing units: the
landlord must deposit your money in an interest-
bearing account, give you the name and address of
the bank in writing and hold the interest in trust or
pay it to you annually. The landlord may retain 1% of
the interest generated from the security deposit for
administrative expenses.

Buildings with fewer than six housing units: the
landlord isn’t required to deposit the money in
an interest-bearing account. If the landlord does
deposit the money in a bank, you’re entitled to
proper notification and interest, if any, less 1% for
administrative expenses.

When you move, you should receive a refund of the
security deposit. Your landlord may withhold all or part
of the refunded deposit to cover any damages beyond
normal wear and tear or unpaid rent. If any security
deposit is retained, the landlord must provide an
itemized account of why within 14 days of the tenant
vacating the premises. Landlords that willfully fail

to follow provisions relating to security deposits can
be found liable for punitive damages up to twice the
amount of the deposit.

Subleases

Buildings with three or fewer apartments: you don’t
have a right to sublet. You may ask the landlord for
permission to sublease your apartment, but the
landlord does not have to agree.

Buildings with four or more apartments: you may
sublease your apartment with the advance written
consent of the landlord. As the original tenant of a
subleased apartment, you remain liable for damages
and/or defaults in rent. The steps to sublease are:

1. Inform your landlord of your intent to sublease by
certified or registered mail, including information
required by law about the sublessee.

2. Allow your landlord 10 days to request more
information.

3. The landlord must approve or deny the request
within 30 days of the initial notification, or if more
information was requested, 30 days after additional
information is mailed. If your landlord fails to notify
you, this can be considered an approval.

4, Upon approval, you may sublease the apartment.

New York City prohibits subleasing an apartment in
a class A dwelling, which is a building occupied by
permanent residents, for fewer than 30 days.

Housing code violations

Immediately report any problems endangering your
health and safety to the landlord. If the landlord isn’t
available or won’t correct the issue, call the local health
or building department. New York City tenants can

call 311 (TTY 212-504-4115) to contact the Department
of Housing Preservation and Development, or visit
portal.311.nyc.gov/report-problems.

Heat

Buildings with three or more units: between Oct.
1and May 31, landlords are required by state law to
provide heating equipment that can maintain room
temperatures of 68° F between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.
when the temperature outside is below 55° F.

In New York City: the inside temperature must be at
least 62° F between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m., regardless of
the outside temperature.

Evictions

Eviction is the legal removal of a person from someone

else’s property. The steps in an eviction are:

1. The tenant defaults in rent payments and/or breaks the
terms of the lease or the lease expires. Tenants have 14

days to pay their rent before an action can be brought.

2.The landlord files a complaint and serves a petition
to the tenant. Tenants must be given at least 10
days’ notice for a court hearing.

3.The tenant appears in court to contest the eviction
and to raise any counterclaims against the landlord.
If there is a dispute, either party may request
an adjournment of at least 14 days. In certain
circumstances, the law also allows judges to stay an

eviction proceeding if it would cause undue hardship

in a tenant’s life. Tenants who don’t contest the
eviction in court lose the case by default.

4, If the landlord wins, the court issues a warrant,
ordering the tenant’s eviction, to be served by the
marshal or sheriff on a business day between the
hours of sunrise and sunset. The court may also
issue a monetary judgment against the tenant. If
the landlord can’t prove his or her case, the action
is dismissed. If the tenant wins a counterclaim, the
court issues a judgment against the landlord.

5. If the case involves the nonpayment of rent, the
tenant can usually end the action by paying rent
before the warrant is issued.

6. The warrant is served, giving the tenant 14 days to
collect their belongings and find a new home.

7. After 14 days, the marshal or sheriff removes the

tenant’s belongings from the premises and locks the

tenant out.

This brochure offers a general overview of information to help you better understand the topic. There may be new or changed legislation since this brochure’s publication date. It is not a substitute for the text of the law or legal advice.

Good Cause Eviction Law

The Good Cause Eviction Law applies throughout
New York City and in any municipality across the state
that opts in. The law protects certain tenants from
unjust eviction and unreasonable rent increases.

As of August 18, 2024, your landlord is required to
inform you in the lease if your unit is covered by the
Good Cause Eviction Law. To learn more, visit New
York State Homes and Community Renewal online at
hcr.ny.gov/good-cause-eviction.

Retaliatory eviction protections

Tenants may be reluctant to report violations of
housing codes or seek enforcement of their legal
rights for fear of being evicted in retaliation.

By law, if a residential tenant (except tenants of
owner-occupied dwellings with less than four units)
has filed a complaint of an unsafe, unhealthy or
uninhabitable dwelling or taken action to secure
their rights as a tenant in good faith, they can claim
retaliation as a defense to an eviction action brought
by the landlord.

Landlords have the burden of proving the eviction
isn’tin retaliation for up to a year after the tenant’s
good faith complaint or action, and tenants may
receive a one-year lease renewal if they prevail. The
laws also protect tenants against landlord retaliation
for participating in tenant organizations.

For more information

If you would like to know more about rights and
protections for tenants in New York State, or if
you are a tenant and want to file a complaint
about harassment, rent security deposits, illegal
evictions, predatory landlords or discrimination,
contact the New York State Attorney General’s
office online at ag.ny.gov, or call 800-771-7755.
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